Clemson Holds Awards Banquet
By: ClemsonTigers.com  
Release:  01/15/2018

Clemson, S.C.-- Clemson held its annual football awards banquet at the Poe Indoor Football Facility on Saturday, January 13.   Dabo Swinney and his assistant coaches handed out awards in various on the field, academic, community service and strength training areas.

The offensive most valuable players, known as the Tiger Pride Awards were presented to quarterback Kelly Bryant and offensive tackle Mitch Hyatt.   Hyatt is just the second offensive lineman to receive an MVP award in the last 30 years. Kalon Davis was also honored in 2014.

On the defensive side the ball, Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter and Dorian O’Daniel were honored with Tiger Pride Awards.

The PAW award that is given for outstanding play, academic excellence, community service went to junior tight end Milan Richard.

Former Clemson outside linebacker and 1981 National Champion Mark Richardson was presented with the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Richardson is a member of the Clemson Board of Trustees and has many years of success in the business world in Charlotte and as a vice present of the Carolina Panthers.

The evening concluded with the honoring the permanent captain for 2017. Those players were offensive linemen Tyrone Crowder, Mitch Hearn, Maverick Morris, defensive lineman Christian Wilkins, linebacker Dorian O’Daniel and cornerback Ryan Carter.

Clemson Football Season Awards for 2017 Season

Offense Awards

      Solid Rock Award (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position)

      Position                                 Recipient

      Running Back                        Adam Choice

      Wide Receiver                       Hunter Renfrow, Ray-Ray McCloud

      Tight End                               Milan Richard

      Offensive Line                       Mitch Hyatt

      Quarterback                          Kelly Bryant


      Hustle Award                         Maverick Morris and Sean Pollard

      12th Man Award                     Travis Etienne and Tremayne Anchrum

      Iron Man Award                     Kelly Bryant and Taylor Hearn

      Most Improved                      Justin Falcinelli, Tavien Feaster, D.J. Greenlee

      Rookie of the Year                Travis Etienne and Tee Higgins

      Scout Team POY                   Baylor Spector and Kyle Cote

      Special Teams POY               Ray-Ray McCloud

      Tiger Pride (MVP)                  Kelly Bryant and Mitch Hyatt


      Special Awards

      Future Impact Players          Amari Rogers, T.J. Chase, John Simpson

      PAW Award                            Tyrone Crowder, Trevion Thompson

      Specialist of the Year           Will Spiers

      Most Improved Specialist     Alex Spence


     Defensive Awards

      Solid Rock Award     (most solid, consistent and dependable player at each position

      Position                                 Recipient

      Defensive Backs                    Ryan Carter and Van Smith

      Defensive Tackles                 Christian Wilkins

      Defensive Ends                      Clelin Ferrell

      Linebackers                           Kendall Joseph

      Hustle Award                         Christian Wilkins and Clelin Ferrell

      12th Man Award                     J.D. Davis and K’Von Wallace

      Iron Man Award                     Ryan Carter and Christian Wilkins

      Most Improved                      J.D. Davis, Albert Huggins,

                                                     Austin Bryant, Trayvon Mullen

      Rookie of the Year                A.J. Terrell, Isaiah Simmons

      Scout Team POY                   Will Brown and Chase Brice

      Special Teams POY               Isaiah Simmons and Jamie Skalski

      Tiger Pride MVP                    Clelin Ferrell, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel

      Special Awards

      Future Impact Players          A.J. Terrell, Justin Foster,

                                                     Isaiah Simmons, Shaq Smith

                                                     Dexter Lawrence, Tanner Muse

      PAW Award                            Milan Richard

\     Specialist of the Year           Will Spiers

      Most Improved Specialist     Alex Spence

      Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement   Mark Richardson

     Nieri CenterAcademic Awards

      Highest GPA Freshman          Darien Rencher

      Highest GPA RS Freshman     Will Brown

      Highest GPA Sophomore        Carson King

      Highest GPA Junior                Alex Spence

      Highest GPA Senior                Maverick Morris

      Highest GPA Team                 Hall Morton

      Nieri Center Awards:              K’Von Wallace, John Simpson, Shaq Smith, Taylor Hearn

     Strength Training Awards

      Strength Training All-Americans      Christian Wilkins, Mitch Hyatt, Clelin Ferrell

      Strength Dedication Awards             Garrett Williams, Dorin O’Daniel

      All-In Accountability Award              Captain--Christian Wilkins

      Team Members—                              Hunter Johnson, Nolan Turner, Austin Jackson, Cade Stewart, Blake Vinson, Xavier Kelly, Seth Penner, Trevion Thompson, Jordan Williams, Will Brown, James Edwards, Amari Rodgers, Luke Price, Peter Cote

      Spiritual Leadership Award               J.D. Davis, Judah Davis

      Captains Awards                                Taylor Hearn, Tyrone Crowder, Maverick Morris

                                                                 Christian Wilkins, Ryan Carter, Dorian O’Daniel


More from Clemson Football

Dabo Swinney
Photo Courtesy of ClemsonTigers.com
Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.