Women's Tennis
Ruiz Earns ACC Postgraduate Award
By: ClemsonTigers.com  
Release:  03/01/2018

CLEMSON, S.C. – Clemson women’s tennis team member Daniela Ruiz was one of 52 ACC student-athletes who were selected as 2018 Weaver-James-Corrigan Award recipients, as announced by the conference office on Wednesday. 

A standout doubles player for the Tigers, Ruiz has a 65.7% career winning percentage in doubles, a 73.3% career winning percentage in dual doubles matches and a 71.4% career winning percentage in ACC dual doubles matches. Ruiz had her best season in doubles as a junior in 2017, going 19-7 overall, which included an impressive 18-3 in dual matches (85.7% winning percentage) and 10-1 in ACC dual matches (90.9% winning percentage). She was a National Strength & Conditioning Association All-American Strength & Conditioning Athlete of the Year in 2017, a three-time Intercollegiate Tennis Association Scholar Athlete (2015, 2016 & 2017), and an All-ACC Academic Women’s Tennis Team member in 2017. 

The Beni, Bolivia native is set to graduate from Clemson in May with a degree in industrial engineering, however, she has already started on her master's degree in the same field, as she has been taking both undergraduate and graduate classes since the start of the fall 2017 semester. The women’s tennis team has two matches this weekend, as they face Florida State on Friday in Peachtree Corners, Ga. and Miami on Sunday in Anderson, S.C.


The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker postgraduate scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $6,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the first three ACC commissioners.

The league’s first commissioner, James H. Weaver, served the conference from 1954-70 after a stint as the Director of Athletics at Wake Forest University. His early leadership and uncompromising integrity are largely responsible for the excellent reputation enjoyed by the ACC today. 

Robert C. James, a former University of Maryland football player, was named commissioner in 1971 and served in that capacity for 16 years. During his tenure, the league continued to grow in stature and became recognized as a national leader in athletics and academics, winning 23 national championships and maintaining standards of excellence in the classroom.

Eugene F. Corrigan assumed his role as the third full-time commissioner on September 1, 1987, and served until August of 1997. During Corrigan’s tenure, ACC schools captured 30 NCAA championships and two national football titles.

Prior to 1994, the Weaver-James postgraduate scholarships were awarded as separate honors. The Jim Weaver Award, which originated in 1970, recognized exceptional achievement on the playing field and in the classroom, while the Bob James Award, established in 1987, also honored outstanding student-athletes.

More from Clemson Women's Tennis

Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.