Men's Soccer
Photo Courtesy of Jacob Thompson, Clemson Athletic Communications
Men's Soccer Program Celebrates 2016 Season, Announces Award Winners
By: ClemsonTigers.com  
Release:  04/03/2017

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson men’s soccer program held its annual awards banquet on Saturday, April 1 at the South Club of Memorial Stadium. It was a festive atmosphere, as the Tigers had plenty to celebrate, including a run to the ACC Championship game and a second straight Elite Eight appearance, as well as many individual athletic and academic accomplishments.

The evening began with dinner, followed by opening comments from Associate Athletic Director & Men’s Soccer Sports Supervisor Kyle Young, and the presentation of awards.

Junior midfielder Oliver Shannon was named the Dalton Family Most Valuable Player. Shannon, also an All-ACC selection, started all 23 games in 2016. Shannon led the team in assist and back to back Elite Eight appearances.

Sophomore defender Patrick Bunk-Andersen was the Defensive Player of the Year and junior forward Diego Campos was the Offensive Player of the Year for 2015. Bunk-Andersen played in all 23 games and was named to the All-ACC Third Team. Campos scored a team-best six goals in 2016, including three game winners. Campos was also named to the All-ACC Second Team.

Freshman defender Malick Mbaye earned the Newcomer of the Year award was named to named to TopDrawerSoccer’s Freshman Best XI First Team and named to the ACC All-Freshman Team. Redshirt freshman forward Trey Langlois received the Scout Team Player of the Year award, awarded to a player who showed unwavering commitment to preparing the team for upcoming matches throughout the year.

Chris Heijjer and Mauriq Hill were other recipients of awards for 2016. Heijjer was presented this year’s service award. While Hill earned the Ratchford Coache’s Award.

Gary Connor was the recipient of the second ever I.M. Ibrahim Award. The award was presented by Ibrahim’s widow, Julie and previous award winner Pearse Tormey. The I.M. Ibrahim Award is presented to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to the program reflecting the passion and values Coach Ibrahim embodied during his Clemson career.


All-ACC Team
Diego Campos – Second Team
Oliver Shannon – Second Team
Patrick Bunk-Andersen – Third Team
Malick Mbaye - All-Freshman
Tanner Dieterich – All-Freshman

All-ACC Academic Team
Ximo Miralles
Oliver Shannon
Patrick Bunk-Andersen
Tanner Dieterich

TDS Awards
Malick Mbaye – Freshman Best XI

Keith Tormey Solid Orange Award
Christopher Heijjer – Junior Midfielder
An individual on the team who pursued excellence on and off the field by representing the men’s soccer program in a positive manner.

GPA Awards
Freshman – Cale Thorne
Sophomore – Trey Langlois & Andrew Burnikel
Junior – Chris Heijjer
Senior – Kevin Fielden

Newcomer of the Year Award
Malick Mbaye

Scout Team Player of the Year
Trey Langlois
A player that was committed to preparing the team for upcoming matches on a daily basis, pushed the starting eleven in training and was always ready when called upon.

Ratchford Coach’s Achievement Award
Mauriq Hill
A player whom the coaches feel went above and beyond what was asked in order to unite the team throughout the season.

Defensive Player of the Year
Patrick Bunk-Andersen

Offensive Player of the Year
Diego Campos

I.M. Ibrahim Award
Gary Conner
This award shall be given annually to an alumnus who has made a significant contribution to Clemson Men’s Soccer that reflects the passion and values that Coach Ibrahim left during his career as a coach, educator, entrepreneur and champion. The award recipient will be an ambassador for the year for Clemson and the men’s soccer program in memory of Coach Ibrahim.

Dalton Family Most Valuable Player Award
Oliver Shannon

NCAA No. 1 RPI Award
Oliver Shannon, Austen Burnikel and Iman Mafi accepted the award on behalf of the team.
This award is granted to the team that finishes the season with the No. 1 RPI in the country (the toughest schedule throughout the year).

More from Clemson Men's Soccer

Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.