Women's Soccer
Photo Courtesy of Justin Pondexter, Clemson Athletic Communications
Clemson Women's Soccer Program Celebrates 2016 Season, Honors Award Winners
By: ClemsonTigers.com  
Release:  04/03/2017

CLEMSON, S.C. – The Clemson women’s soccer players, staff, support staff and families gathered at the President’s Suite at Memorial Stadium on Saturday, April 1 to celebrate the 2016 season. The Tigers had much to celebrate, with many team and individual athletic and academic accomplishments, which included trips to the NCAA Sweet 16 and the ACC Tournament Semifinals.

The complete list of award winners for the 2016 is below, which includes three new awards, presented for the first time on Saturday and which will be presented annually going forward.

Most Valuable Player
Claire Wagner 

Deliah Arrington Offensive MVP
Catrina Atanda

Co-Defensive MVPs
Kailen Sheridan & Katie Sprouse 

Coaches Achievement Award
Shannon Horgan 

Tiger Newcomer Award
Julie Mackin 

Goal of the Year
Claire Wagner (50-yard goal vs. Nebraska on Sept. 11, 2016) 

Team Leadership Award (recognizes consistency in leadership both on and off the field, while fostering a culture of care for others)
Emily Byorth & Gabby Byorth

Bill D’Andrea Tiger Paw Award (recognizes a total commitment to both individual and team development)
Abby Jones 

12th Woman Award (recognizes an individual who displays a true spirit of readiness for service and the desire to support others above self)
Anna Davis 

Iron Woman Award (recognizes outstanding commitment and mentality in physical preparation and development in the area of strength and conditioning)
Ellen Colborn 

Tiger 50+ Club (recognizes outstanding achievement in fitness testing)
Allie Kington & Sam Staab
NOTE: Former Tiger Katelyn Reeve previously achieved fitness test results that also place her in the Tiger 50+ Club.


NSCAA All-America Third Team
Catrina Atanda 

NSCAA All-Region Team
Catrina Atanda (First Team)
Sam Staab (Second Team)
Kailen Sheridan (Third Team)
Claire Wagner (Third Team) 

ACC Coach of the Year
Eddie Radwanski 

All-ACC Team
Catrina Atanda (First Team)
Kailen Sheridan (First Team)
Sam Staab (Second Team)
Claire Wagner (Third Team) 


CoSIDA Academic All-America Team
Emily Byorth (First Team)
Jenna Weston (Second Team) 

All-ACC Academic Women’s Soccer Team
Emily Byorth
Gabby Byorth
Abby Jones
Sam Staab
Claire Wagner
Jenna Weston

More from Clemson Women's Soccer

Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.