Clemson Holds Football Awards Banquet
By: Clemson Athletic Communications  
Release:  01/13/2014

CLEMSON, SC - Tajh Boyd, Sammy Watkins, Spencer Shuey, Vic Beasley and Chandler Catanzaro all received most valuable player honors at Clemson's 2013 season football banquet. The event was held Saturday night, Jan. 11 at the Madren Center in Clemson.

Boyd and Watkins were named MVPs of the offense, Beasley and Shuey were named MVPs of the defense, and Catanzaro for the special teams. Boyd leaves Clemson as the ACC's career leader in touchdown passes (107), touchdowns rushing and passing (133) and passing efficiency (155.3). Watkins set Clemson records this year for receptions (101) and reception yards (1464), and was a first-team All-American for the third straight year.

Beasley ranked in the top three in the nation in sacks (13) and tackles for loss (23) and was named a consensus first-team All-American. Shuey was second on the team in tackles and ranked second in the nation in fumble recoveries with four, including one in the fourth quarter of the victory over Ohio State in the Discover Orange Bowl. Catanzaro finished his Clemson career with 405 points, second in ACC history and first in Clemson history. He made 39 of his last 41 field goals.

One of the highlights of the evening was the presentation of the Brian Dawkins Lifetime Achievement Award. Dawkins, who retired two years ago after a 16-year NFL career that included nine selections to the Pro Bowl, was on hand to make the presentation to Bill Smith.

Smith was a starter on Clemson's 1981 National Championship team and had 10 tackles in the victory over Nebraska. He has gone on to a 30-year career in commercial real estate. He has been a member of the Clemson Board of Trustees since 1996. At the time of his selection he was just 36 years old, the youngest person selected to the board in its history.

Clemson Football 2013 Award Winners
Presented January 11, 2014


MVP (offense)
Tajh Boyd, Sammy Watkins

MVP (defense)
Spencer Shuey, Vic Beasley

Specialist of the Year
Chandler Catanzaro

Hustle Award (offense)
Adam Humphries

Hustle Award (defense)
Spencer Shuey, Robert Smith

12th Man Award (offense)
Cole Stoudt

12th Man Award (defense)
Martin Jenkins

Iron Man Award (offense)
Ryan Norton, Tyler Shatley

Iron Man Award (defense)
Grady Jarrett

Most Improved (offense)
Martavis Bryant

Most Improved (defense)
Stephone Anthony, Corey Crawford

Rookie of the Year (offense)
Mike Williams

Rookie of the Year (defense)
Shaq Lawson, Jayron Kearse

Scout Team Player of the Year (offense)
Adrien Dunn, Nick Schuessler

Scout Team Player of the Year (defense)
Chad Richardson, Marcus Bullard

Special Teams MVP (offense)
T.J. Green

Special Teams MVP (defense)
Tony Steward

Future Impact Players (offense)
C.J. Davidson, Mike Williams

Future Impact Players (defense)
Jayron Kearse, Shaq Lawson

Brian Dawkins Leadership Award
Bill Smith

Spiritual Leadership Award
Chandler Catanzaro

P.A.T. Award
Tyler Shatley

2013 Captains
Tajh Boyd, Tyler Shatley, Brandon Thomas, Quandon Christian, Darius Robinson, Spencer Shuey

(Most consistent and dependable players by position)

Quarterbacks - Tajh Boyd
Running Backs - Roderick McDowell
Wide Receivers - Sammy Watkins
Tight Ends - Darrell Smith
Offensive Line - Brandon Thomas
Defensive Backs - Bashaud Breeland
Linebackers - Stephone Anthony
Defensive Line - Grady Jarrett
Defensive Ends - Corey Crawford


Top GPA (freshmen) - Quintin Hall
Top GPA (sophomores) - Alex Burdette
Top GPA (juniors) - Corbin Jenkins
Top GPA (seniors) - Zach Fulmer
Top GPA (Team) - Andrew Maass

Vickery Hall Award
Roderick Byers, Stephone Anthony, Isaiah Battle


Strength All-American
Brandon Thomas

Dedication Award
Spencer Shuey, Tyler Shatley

More from Clemson Football

Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.