Signing Day Central
Swinney Semifinalist for Maxwell Coach of the Year Award
By: Clemson Athletic Communications  
Release:  11/20/2013
CLEMSON, SC - Clemson Head Coach Dabo Swinney has been named a semifinalist for the 2013 Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award. The 16 semifinalists were announced by Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski on Wednesday.

Swinney and Ohio State Head Coach Urban Meyer are the only repeat semifinalists from last year.

Swinney has led Clemson to a 9-1 record so far this year. The Tigers are ranked seventh by AP and the BCS and sixth by the USA Today Coaches Poll. Clemson finished second in the Atlantic Division of the ACC with a 7-1 record, the second straight year Clemson has been 7-1 in the ACC.

The Tigers have been ranked in the top 10 of every poll this year and the 13-week streak of top 10 rankings is the longest in Clemson history.

Swinney's Tigers have two games left, vs. The Citadel this coming Saturday and at South Carolina on November 30.

The sixth year Clemson Head Coach will go for his 50th career win when Clemson faces The Citadel on Saturday. He has a 49-22 overall record after taking over in the middle of the 2008 season.

2013 Maxwell Award Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalists

Nick Saban - Alabama
Gus Malzahn - Auburn
Art Briles - Baylor
Steve Addazio - Boston College
Dabo Swinney - Clemson
David Cutcliffe - Duke
Tim DeRuyter - Fresno State
Jimbo Fisher - Florida State
Mark Dantonio - Michigan State
Gary Pinkel - Missouri
Rod Carey - Northern Illinois
Urban Meyer - Ohio State
Mike Gundy - Oklahoma State
George O'Leary - UCF
Ed Orgeron - Southern Cal
Gary Anderson - Wisconsin

More from Clemson Football

Copyright ©  2018, Clemson University. All rights reserved.